Heteronormativity

Guidelines

Inclusive writing requires being mindful of our own biases and prejudices, and actively engaging with communities outside our own. 

Do not imply there is one "normal" gender, sex, or orientation.

Remember that all people, including straight people, have a gender identity (or identities) and a sexual orientation (or orientations). There is no "normal" or "real" gender identity, gender expression, or sexual orientation. This principle should be reflected in our interactions as well as the language we use. 

Avoid using the words "preferred" or "preference" when referring to pronouns or sexual orientation. The table below provides more inclusive alternatives:

Consider relevance and confidentiality.

Before sharing information about a person's family status, sexual orientation, or gender identity, consider the following questions:

• Would I still include this information if the subject were a straight cisgender man? 
• Is this information important and relevant to the story?
• Do I need to know the answer? Do I need to ask?
• Has the individual given me permission to share this information about their gender identity or sexual orientation? Is their gender identity or sexual orientation known to everybody?

Respect the individual.

Since language is developed at a community level, it is normal not to have heard of a gender term if you are not part of that community. Regardless of whether you are familiar with a term or not, these terms are valid and should be used to refer to the individual, if that's what they ask you to do. If you don't know the meaning of a term, Media Reference Guide recommends using open-ended questions such as the following: 

• "How would you like me to refer to you?"
• "What language do you feel best describes you?"

Avoid gendered language.

Avoiding gendered term such as "waitress" or "chairman" is an important step towards inclusive writing. Not only do these words perpetuate gender stereotypes, they exclude nonbinary individuals. 

Whenever possible, try to find out the pronouns and titles the individual uses. Otherwise, consider rephrasing your sentence, or using gender-neutral titles and pronouns.

Avoid misgendering, mispronouning, and deadnaming.

Misgendering or deadnaming means to refer to someone using a word, pronoun or name that does not reflect their gender identity. Using a trans person's former name or pronouns is a form of violence.

Unless the person has told you to do so, always use the pronouns and name with which they identify. This includes when you are talking about them in the past tense. 

Examples of Insensitive and Inclusive Language

Learn more

• The Radical Copyeditor’s Style Guide for Writing About Transgender People 

Writing about Nonbinary Individuals

Nonbinary is an umbrella term that includes individuals who identify outside of the strict man/woman or male/female binary.  Some individuals may identify with the term nonbinary, while others might use a term that better describes their identity or experiences, including, but not limited to: 

• agender
• genderqueer
• gender nonconforming
• bigender
• genderfluid

Some nonbinary individuals might identify as transgender, while others do not. As always, use the same term that the individual identifies with when referring to them.

Many of the guidelines regarding gender-inclusive writing can be applied when writing to or about nonbinary individuals. 

Pronouns

Listen to the individual and follow their lead. Many nonbinary individuals signal how they would like to be referred to in emails and conversations. Often, their email signatures or social media profiles will include their title and pronouns.

Note that some nonbinary individuals might use more than one set of pronouns depending on the context and their comfort level. For example, a nonbinary individual might choose to use she/her in a professional setting because their workplace is not yet accepting of nonbinary people.

Moreover, if an individual lets you know that their pronouns have changed, it is important to be flexible and respectful. If you are ever unsure about which pronouns to use or how to use them, it is always best to ask the person in a discreet way. 

Courtesy Titles and Salutations

When writing to or about a nonbinary person, omit gendered courtesy titles "Mr.", "Ms." or "Mrs." It is generally acceptable to use the person's full name instead. 

Some individuals might prefer a gender-neutral title such as "Mx.", but it is best to ask which title they prefer, if any.

Learn More

• Gender-inclusive writing

Two-Spirit

Two-Spirit refers to an Indigenous person with both a masculine and female spirit. Different variations of the term have existed in many Indigenous cultures for centuries. According to the Canadian Encyclopedia, "... all of these terms have historically been used to describe similar traits embodied by two-spirit people including gender variance, specialized work roles, same-sex attraction and spiritual identity." 

Although the concept of Two-Spirit people has existed for a long time, the term Two-Spirit was coined in 1990 to refer to all Indigenous peoples in the LGBTQ community. The term was developed as part of an effort to reclaim Indigenous identity and traditions. 

Identity

Two-spirit does not necessarily refer to transgenderism or homosexuality as many Indigenous cultures do not subscribe to the Western idea of a gender binary. Learn More.

Different Indigenous cultures have unique terms in their language to indicate variations in gender, roles, identity and attraction. As such, it is common for individuals to identify with one of these terms, which more accurately describes their identity and experience. 

In addition, many Indigenous people may identify with terms such as nonbinary, transgender, genderqueer, or any other term.

Learn more

• Two-Spirit Dictionary: A Collection of Definitions celebrating Two-spirit Diversity and Expression (We Matter Campaign)
• Two-Spirit (The Canadian Encyclopedia)

Pronouns and Neopronouns

Pronouns are words that you use to refer to someone when not using the person's name. Some languages have gender-specific pronouns, while others do not. 

In English, he/his and she/her are the most common gender-specific third-person singular pronouns. The singular they has also been used as a gender-neutral pronoun since the 14th century.

As pronouns can indicate gender identity, using the right pronouns is essential to inclusive and sensitive writing. To avoid misgendering, make sure you always ask for the person's pronouns. 

What are neopronouns?

Guidelines for Using Pronouns and Neopronouns

• Never assume a person's pronoun based on their name or gender expression.  
• Remember that a person's pronouns may change overtime, or from context to context. For example, a nonbinary or transgender person may decide to use either he or she at work if their workplace is not inclusive enough. 
• Create a culture of inclusion by sharing your pronouns regularly:
  • Share your pronouns whenever you meet somebody for the first time.
  • Set aside time for pronoun go-arounds in team meetings.
  • Add your pronouns to your email signature and professional profile.
• Be respectful of people's privacy. Don't ask an individual for their pronoun in front of a large group, or in a chain email.
• Note that some people may use no pronouns at all. Respect their choice by rephrasing your sentence. 

What if I don't know the person's pronouns?

When writing about an individual, you need to confirm their pronouns first. Do not assume a person's pronouns based on their name or gender expression. This could lead to misgendering or deadnaming, which can be very harmful.

Reach out to the person privately to ask for their pronouns. If this is not possible, use the gender-neutral singular they, or rephrase the sentence to avoid using a pronoun. Repeat their name, or change the sentence structure. Learn more. 

Using the Singular They

Using they as a gender-neutral or general pronoun can make your writing more inclusive. Despite the common assumption, the use of they as a generic singular pronoun isn't new. In fact, there is evidence that it was widely used as far back as 1375. 

They is used as a singular pronoun in three instances: 

• when an individual shares they/them as their pronouns
• when referring to a large group or everyone as a universal gender-neutral pronoun for everyone (instead of he or she)
• when you don't know the person's pronouns or gender identity (Example: I emailed the candidate to set up an interview, but they haven't responded to me yet.)

When using the singular they, the reflexive pronoun themselves is often used. Themself is also accepted, but not as widely. Both the MLA and APA recommend the use of the singular they. 

Sources

• A Little Word That Means A Lot: A Reassessment of Singular They in a New Era of Gender Politics (Gender & Society)
• Gender-inclusive writing: Guidelines for writing to or about non-binary individuals (Language Portal of Canada)
• Pronouns: Neopronouns (It Gets Better Project)
• The singular “they” is gaining acceptance
• Words Matter: McMaster University's Editorial Style Guide

Gender-Inclusive Salutations and Titles

To be inclusive of all genders, it is common practice to omit any references to gender when you are writing to:

• a person whose gender you do not know
•  a nonbinary individual
• a group of people with diverse genders. 

This includes titles and salutations Below are some guidelines and alternatives. 

Note that some nonbinary individuals might prefer the title Mx., while others might prefer no titles at all. Before using Mx., make sure that this is in fact how the person would like to be addressed. 

Introduction

You may already know terms like "stewardess" are sexist and outdated, but there are still many non-inclusive gendered words and expressions, especially in the business world. Click or tap on each of the categories below to view examples and alternatives.